ACT-SO is an acronym for Afro-Academic, Cultural, ACT-SO LogoTechnological, and Scientific Olympics. ACT-SO is a yearlong enrichment program designed to recruit, stimulate, improve and encourage high academic and cultural achievement among African American high school students.

ACT-SO is rooted in the firm conviction that all students can succeed and compete at the same or superior levels as their counterparts in classrooms, boardrooms and laboratories across this nation and abroad.

ACT-SO includes 32 competitions in STEM, humanities, business, and performing, visual and culinary arts. Almost 300,000 young people have participated from the program since its inception in 1978.

For over forty years the mission of ACT-SO has been to prepare, recognize and reward youth of African descent who exemplify scholastic and artistic excellence.

The Los Angeles NAACP annual ACT-SO local competition will be held on Saturday, April 21, 2018 from 9:00 am - 1:00 pm at Holman United Methodist Church, 3320 West Adams Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90018. Local winners will compete for scholarships, prizes and possible internships during the 40th annual NAACP national ACT-SO competition in San Antonio, TX July 12-15, 2018.

LA ACT-SO Medals at 2015 National Convention

ACT-SO students of the Los Angeles Branch NAACP received medals at the National ACT-SO Convention in Philadelphia!

Rebecca Sine received the bronze in Medicine and Health and Crislin Williams-Womack received the bronze in Dance. Each winner received $1,200 and an IPad.

Other students who participated at the national level were Nile Ruth Pierre of Palisades Charter in the category of engineering, Miguel Otano of Buckley in computer science, Kevin Jennings of Hamilton High in musical instrumental contemporary, Ariel Alston of Santee High in the category of painting and Byrone Collins of Ramon Cortines High in dramatics.

Chaperones and coaches that traveled with the students were Gloria Brown, Mary Louise Batise, Jan Berry, Paula Brown. Brandon Johnson, Lacie Pierre, Kevin Jennings, Sr., & Fae Pierre, ACT-SO Chair.

national actso button
2016 video
factsheet button
mission button

Andy Anderson Name